A very relevant prayer

Today I was thinking about everything going on in the world, and I was struck by how much the world needs prayer – specifically intercession, which is praying for others, as opposed to praying for ourselves. As I reflected on this, the Lord’s Prayer came to mind, and I thought, “Duh! A couple millenia ago Jesus gave us a prayer that’s tailor made for the problems we face today!” As I prayed the prayer, I put it in my own words. I thought I’d share my version with you:

Matt 6:9-13 (my paraphrase, based on the NIV)

9 ‘Our Father in heaven,

may your holy name be revered;

10 let your kingdom come,

let your will be done

on earth as it is in heaven.

11 Give us everything we need for this day.

12 Forgive our debts, as we also forgive our debtors.

13 And lead us not into temptation,

but deliver us from evil and from the evil one;

for the kingdom and the power and the glory are yours forever.

Amen.’

I invite you to pray the Lord’s Prayer with me for our world.

Leave a Reply

